Glass Half Full: How to Stay Optimistic

Staying positive for yourself and others is crucial when growing older and gaining more life experiences. Not everything you do in life will be a walk in the park. It is important to try and stay optimistic through trials and tribulation.

I try to stay positive by owning my mistakes and reminding myself that no suffering lasts forever. Excepting that everything in life is transient has helped me through many hard times. When going through a period of sadness or pain I try to remind myself that it will soon pass.

Once I came to terms with this idea, I shared it with my friends who came to me in sadness or stress. When I noticed that the advice comforted them I realize that it wasn’t just something I needed to know, but that others needed to hear.

Another aspect of life that can tremendously impact your positivity is the people you surround yourself with. In high school, I put up with people I couldn’t stand to be around because I felt I had little option.

In college, I had the opportunity to meet new, kind people and I realized I didn’t have to tolerate people like I did in high school.

Now, if I don’t appreciate someone’s attitude or constant pessimism I simply choose not to be around them.IMG_0363

Surround yourself with people that help you grow and your glass will forever be half full.

For more like this check out:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/marlo-thomas/12-tips-for-staying-optimistic_b_3611951.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

